Struggling with deploying Node Express app

Hi,

I am very new to hosting and purchased a VPS to host a 1 page Node website. This will expand in time to a full website.

In the meantime I have been trying to get this hosted for over 1 month now and am really getting frustrated. I initially had a VPS setup with Ubuntu and Cyberpanel with Openlitespeed.

I felt that it was too much and overcomplicating this so I decided to stick with just an Ubuntu VPS with Openlitespeed and Node.

But I am still really struggling!

I have tried to use the instructions here: https://openlitespeed.org/kb/running-node-js-apps-with-openlitespeed/ to adapt to how to deploy my website but nothing. Also tried following these instructions to setup https://openlitespeed.org/kb/setting-up-name-based-virtual-hosting-on-openlitespeed/ but still nothing.

I also tried editing the 'Example' virtual host and upload my files to that structure but when I visit my domain, the page just loads and loads until it timesout.

I think it may be to do with the locations of my directories but I am absolutely lost on this.

My 'app.js' file only contains the settings and config for the app. My routes (only 1 for now) are stored in a separate folder so not sure if it could be that.

Here is my app folder structure:
1685471909030.png

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If let's say I take the already created 'Example' virtual host, which of my files do I place in which of the already created directories on the VPS server?

Thanks,
Jerry

Hi @Cold-Egg thanks for your reply. The issue isn't whether Node works or not. When I setup my VPS with Openlitespeed, I assigned my domain during startup and when I visit my domain, it does display the "Hello World" text from the already created 'Example' virtual host on my Openlitespeed console:

1685552714773.png