Website slows down or crashes on running benchmark (ab, wrk)

Hi,
I am new to OLS. Was planning to migrate from Apache as I have heard great things about OLS. So, I just setup LOMP (with PHP 8.1) with VSFTPD and phpMyAdmin on my Ubuntu 22.04 Server (Virtualbox) - 2GB RAM, 2 Cores, for testing.

My website uses PHP an has atleast 3-4 MySQL calls every page.

Haven't changed many settings. But, this is what I am noticing that wasn't there on Apache. I tried running two benchmarks (screenshots below):-
1. Ab (Apache Benchmark) - It just times out.
2. Wrk - Completes but there are timeouts in the results.

The irritating thing though is that, reloading the website after these benchmarks, it just keeps reloading and never actually reloads. I then have to go the OLS panel and graceful restart it, for the website to load.

benchmark.PNG

My first doubt was it was a server overload, but below is the htop screenshot which clearly states that almost nil resources were being used during the benchmarks. I also checked the disk usage, which was also very low.

htop.PNG

I believe that a little bit of customisation is required to get the results close to Apache or better, but, I don't know where to start. Any help is appreciated.

Ran some more tests and found some very disappointing results.
Here is the same site with Apache (completed 10K requests in 36s)
crp-apache.png

The same website with OLS (after tweaking some things following this - forum.openlitespeed.org/threads/openlitespeed-limitation-based-on-resource.4222 Took a whopping 410s
crp-ols-without-lsmcd.png